Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pic from movie "Centurion", what say the experts?
[Image: 025cce4d32.jpg]

Any opinions about how authentic the clothes and armour would be for AD 117? I am not an expert, but looks good for me.
(Mika S.)

"Odi et amo. Quare id faciam, fortasse requiris? Nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior." - Catullus -

"Nemo enim fere saltat sobrius, nisi forte insanit."

"Audendo magnus tegitur timor." -Lucanus-
Nah....close, but no banana, as they say. The wrist things are real 'sword and sandal' with little/no evidence for them and the ptreruges just don't look right.....the look is 'costume' rather than re-enactment..... Cry Cry :evil: :twisted:
"dulce et decorum est pro patria mori " - Horace
(It is a sweet and proper thing to die for ones country)

"No son-of-a-bitch ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country" - George C Scott as General George S. Patton
Paul McDonnell-Staff
Yea, though if I recall right, some sort of "vambraces" were used in Dacian Wars?

I was wondering about that strange pteryges & mail combo too after second glance.
(Mika S.)

"Odi et amo. Quare id faciam, fortasse requiris? Nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior." - Catullus -

Hi

For a movie the legionary at the back is pretty good. With regards to the Centurion, well you can see where they are coming from. They do have mail, sword on left side, a decent set of military awards and a belt based on M.Favonius Facilis possibly even the one sold by Adrian, perhaps he can confirm. Compared to what we are used to seeing in films this is a big improvement but I agree with Paul about the 'things' on his wrists! They basically let everything down.

The Centurion's helmet though, (not visible in this picture) owes more to Russell Crowe than Russell Robinson!

Graham.
"Is all that we see or seem but a dream within a dream" Edgar Allan Poe.