Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Windlass Kopis
Windlass has a new foray into the Kopis market, and I am not an expert, although I am trying to learn. What is the opinion on the grip and blade shape ? Historically accurate ? In the ball park ? Plausible due to some vase art ? Just plain thrown together with materials at hand ? Thanks for the input.

"Although the leaf blade Hoplite Sword is most often associated with the ancient Greek warrior, the Kopis was widespread and much in use all across the Greek Isles and indeed other areas under their influence, even including their ofttimes enemy, Persia. This is due, no doubt, to the fact that it is a very effective weapon, being able to split bronze helms and wooden shields. Blade sizes varied from about 8" up to about 22" in length. We have chosen to replicate a mid-size blade that would have been carried alone or sometimes with a longer Hoplite Sword. The fullered blade is high carbon steel and has polished buffalo horn scales riveted to a full profile tang with steel spacers and tip. Comes with leather scabbard with shoulder straps that can be tied at the desired length. "

http://www.museumreplicas.com/p-1159-greek-kopis.aspx
James Kell ey Never Trust a Fart
Personally i think it is too short, compared to the blades found in archaeology.

[Image: FalcataIberianBladeChart.jpg]

M.VIB.M.
Bushido wa watashi no shuukyou de gozaru.

Katte Kabuto no O wo shimeyo!

H.J.Vrielink.
Some blades i have seen are very short and i think this one is not out of hand. What i don't like much is the hilt. It seems rigid and of good quality,but not in the style. It looks more like moder kitchen knife. Still,it can be used i think. It doesn't seem replaceable anyway.
What you will have to change definately though is the scabbard. Make a wooden one,covered in leather,with four rings for the suspention.
Khaire
Giannis
Giannis K. Hoplite
a.k.a.:Giannis Kadoglou
a.k.a.:Thorax
[Image: -side-1.gif]