Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Auxilia in Galilee during 1st Century
First post, so I apologize for any etiquette issues I may have missed. I'm also extremely new to Roman military stuff, so please be patient with me.

I'm interested in the Auxilia in rural Galilee before the Jewish War. Luke 7:1-10 describes a centurion living in Capernaum. Some scholars have argued that this must be a centurion in the auxiliary army [Saddington, D. B. “The Centurion in Matthew 8:5-13: Consideration of the Proposal of Theodore W. Jennings, Jr., and Tat-Siong Benny Liew.” Journal of Biblical Literature 125 (2006): 140-142.].

My impression is that the auxiliary troops in Galilee would have been Jewish (contrast the claim in Luke 7:9), like it seems Cohors I Sebastena was - being the continuation of Herod the Great's army. I've found a few books that deal with the army under Herod the Great [Shatzman, Israel. The Armies of the Hasmonaeans and Herod: From Hellenistic to Roman Frameworks. Texte und Studien zum Antiken Judentum 25. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 1991. and Rocca, Samuel. Herod's Judea: A Mediterranean State in the Classical World. Edited by Peter Sch?fer, Annette Y. Reed, Seth Schwartz, and Azzan Yadin. Texts and Studies in Ancient Judaism 122. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2008.], but nothing about during the tetrarchy. Josephus doesn't really provide us with much information about the military under Herod Antipas, as far as I can tell and the surviving diplomas are too late to offer much information about anything but the tail-end of the period before the Jewish War (the mid-to-late 60s).

So any help regarding this passage would be greatly appreciated. Here are my questions, in short: