Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Greek (and Roman) Fabric
I'm going to write a short essay on ancient Mediterranean textiles to see if I can elicit agreement of disagreement while I try to find weavers to manufacture this stuff--and to help anyone who wants to recreate them. I am not a weaving expert or a textile expert--but as a veteran of many periods, I can say that until you get textiles right, your clothes will never look quite right. Some people call us "thread counters." Yep--that's right. Because all wool is not the same, nor is all linen the same.

Mostly, I'm going to reference John Peter Wild's essay 'The Romans in the West, 600 BC-400AD" in the Cambridge History of Western Textiles Vol. I, pp 87 and following. I've also used Graham Sumner's "Roman Military Dress" which is very useful for Greek reenactors as well as Romans, especially in his dissertation on why wool and wool alone was what most military tunics were made of--because I think that the same applied to Greece.

Let me say right here--there's much to know about Greek and Roman linen--there's several surviving textiles from the period 500-330 BC--but in the main, as they have a simple tabby weave and simple selvedges, and so do most modern linens, so they aren't the replication nightmare that wool is.

Anyway, if this level if detail interests you, read on!

I've added a set of illustrations of weaving techniques from the "Medieval Weavers" site [url:3dy7pd7i]http://www.medievaltextiles.org/lbj.html[/url] to provide weaver diagrams of the weaves that were commonest throughout the ancient Mediterranean world. I've added a photos of a 4th C. textile that show some of the complexities involved.