Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Decoration of the Greek Dory
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and have to say I'm impressed with the collective knowledge contained within.

I'm trying to construct a Greek dory and had a question about the decoration of the shaft. I've researched the limited sources available on the web but cannot find any references, ancient or modern. In particular, I'm looking for suggestions as to the use of leather for a handgrip. I've not yet ventured into the realm of reenacting so I have no real time experience as to the functionality of a handgrip. My first guess is that it would be the discretion of the warrior since the spear shaft could become very slick due to sweat and/or blood. A leather grip would provide a solid hold on the dory as it was thrust into and pulled out of an armored body.

I think it would be safe to say that most Greeks were deeply religious, especially the Spartans. Could it be safe to speculate that they would have decorated their spears to reflect their devotion to the gods? What about carvings on the shaft, with respect to the structural integrity as the main priority? The Greek art I've seen is very vague and I've only read a few books concerning Greek culture. Thanks for your input!

Mike
Wellcome Mike.
Most re-enactors will tell you the advantages of the leather-grip.

As for saft decoration I am not aware of pottery or marbles giving any details.

Chanses are that the wood was treated and painted to lengthen its life by protecting it from humidity.

I am of the opinion that techinques used for preserving ships could be applied to the spear shaft with probale exception of the "smelly" ones.

Kind regards
Hi Stefanos,