Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Augustine was wrong
In Book 11 of his Confessions, Augustine of Hippo discusses the origin of time. What was God doing, he asks, before he created the universe? Augustine's answer has become famous: before the Creation, time did not exist, so it is useless to ask what happened before the moment of Creation. I always thought Augustine had a point. Now it turns out that he was wrong, after all: go here.
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
Well, I'd like to know what theories the scientists posit for what happened before the moment of creation. I have no scientific background to defend or acclaim them, but it does intrigue me. And as with many things religious of scientific I don't think St. Augustine's idea will be answered in this world.
---AH Mervla, aka Joel Boynton
Legio XIIII, Gemina Martia Victrix
Quote:Well, I'd like to know what theories the scientists posit for what happened before the moment of creation. I have no scientific background to defend or acclaim them, but it does intrigue me. And as with many things religious of scientific I don't think St. Augustine's idea will be answered in this world.

The problem with that question is that science doesn't deal with the moment of creation. The big bang theory nicely meshes with the idea, but it is really a distinct concept. If there is now evidence that time existed prior to the big bang, then obviously it can not have been the moment of creation. Thus, if you subscribe to a scientifically moderated version of creation faith, point zero needs to be pushed back. If you subscribe to a purely scientific view, there is no need to assume the existence of a point zero if this pans out. All of which subject to this actually turning out good data and the right interpretation.