Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Star Wars Theme Park...?
This news off the Rebelscum web site

Can not vouch for the truth of it, but I have no reason to doubt it.

Clearly Dubai sees their future in something other than the oil export business.

http://www.rebelscum.com/story/front/St ... 113119.asp

Star Wars Themed Park In Dubai?
Posted by José on March 13, 2008 at 11:26 AM CST:
Euroscum reader Mattia from Italy sent us news of the first Star Wars theme park to be built in the Gulf Emirate of Dubai. Here's Mattia's account:

Dear Rebelscum,

My name is M. Mattia I’m from Italy.

I have a news that may interest you to know. I work in the Theme Park industry and I’m currently in Dubai where I just had a meeting in DUBAI LAND.

DUBAI LAND is a 107 square kilometer project that involve the construction of:

UNIVERSAL STUDIOS and other park which also for the first time in the world an entire STAR WARS PARK.

The project manager told me that George Lucas will personally follow the construction.

THIS IS GREAT

They also told me that is still a secret but the construction already started and will be over in 4 years.

Greetings

M. Mattia
David Reinke
Burbank CA
Here is the link to the Dubai Land web site

It does not mention Star Wars but they do have Dreamworks on board. Where Spielberg ventures can Lucas be far behind...?

http://www.dubailand.ae/

:wink:

Narukami
David Reinke
Burbank CA
Well that's stupid....sure Dubai is beautiful and has piles of cash to throw around, but what's the point in building that type of park there? They should build it somewhere in the US and invest the money into it.

Legion: TBD
Errrr, probably because of the reasons you mentioned Magnus.... :lol:
Visne partem mei capere? Comminus agamus! * Me semper rogo, Quid faceret Iulius Caesar? * Confidence is a good thing! Overconfidence is too much of a good thing.
[b]Legio XIIII GMV. (Q. Magivs)RMRS Remember Atuatuca! Vengence will be ours!
Titus Flavius Germanus
Batavian Coh I