Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roman \'Wedge\' Formation
I'm somewhat new at Roman military history, so pardon me if this is a dumb/obvious question.<br>
Concerning the 'Wedge' formation, was this done by each cohort, forming a jagged edged battle line for an entire legion, or was it done by each century? Or was it done by whole legions? I would wager a guess at cohorts, being the tactical formations, but I'm not sure. Thanks.<br>
<br>
Jesse the Velite <p></p><i></i>
Vegetius is the main ancient source on the wedge formation(Livy mentions it as being used by Cato, Tacitus characterized it as a German tactic),and unfortunatly he does not specify the actual tactical formations used. Probably could have used by both cohorts acting independently or Legions as a whole(Vegetius kind of implies this when he talks about the four strategies used in battle.) <p></p><i></i>
Thanks, Rufus. It is unfortunate that we don't have better information on such tactical matters. I would assume that this formation was a 'line breaking' formation designed for the attack, such as the final battle of the Boudiccan Revolt in Britain. After the Romans discharged their volley of pilum, I have read in two places (the Osprey 'From Caesar to Tragan and a wargame book which I think was by Donald Featherstone but I forget the title) that the Romans then advanced in wedge formation and slaughtered the Britons. Not that my sources are exactly impeccable, but I have no clear reason to doubt them, any other thoughts on the subject? <p></p><i></i>
Velite,<br>