Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Imperial gallic - opinion
Hi

This is my first time here.
I'm craftman from Poland. I make usually helmets from later periods than Roman but somtimes I must to do roman helmet also :^).....but I'm not the expert in this subject.

One customer from Poland had the wish to have roman imperial-gallic helmet and he gave me the order for this.

So, I made this : http://photofile.name/users/nieczar/3499715/

The basic stuff was Imperial-gallic from Meinz ....but it was just the inspiration ....so, the helmet isn't copy .
Helmet is raised in one piece (exept mobile parts) by hot way.
I used electric tools only for cutting and cleaning of surface...the rest is a hand- work

This is my first helmet in this type ,so I need some opinion of the experts ....as I said - this is not my favorite subject

...be as hard as it's nesesery :^)

Patryk
I like it! Not an expert tho! Big Grin
Visne partem mei capere? Comminus agamus! * Me semper rogo, Quid faceret Iulius Caesar? * Confidence is a good thing! Overconfidence is too much of a good thing.
[b]Legio XIIII GMV. (Q. Magivs)RMRS Remember Atuatuca! Vengence will be ours!
Titus Flavius Germanus
Batavian Coh I
Byron Angel
It's quite good make. I specially like the eyebrows and cheekpieces. You have forgoten to put some crest holder.

It gives a little strange aspect about its proportions. I think the dome is too hollow and the neckguard is oversized. I don't know if it's partially due to a optic efect of the picture. Can you post one picture with the helmet put on a wearer?

I think it follows the Mainz Gallic D, so i link a picture from armamentarium to see how i mean about proportions.

[Image: 75590696.jpg]

[Image: helm01.jpg]

In that forum, there are people more specialized in helmets, like Peroni or Tarbicus, who probably can tell you their point of view.

And, a important question.... HOW MUCH it costs? :lol:
Really Good Patryk! A nicely made helmet!