Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Paint brushes?
Roman paintings have been found aplenty, pots for colours, mixing tablets etc. - and brushes? I know that the encaustic "hot wax paintings" of Fayum were painted mostly with scoops (spatulae), but the al-fresco or tempera paintings paintings definitely weren't.
Tertius Mummius
(Jan Hochbruck)
<a class="postlink" href="http://www.flavii.de">www.flavii.de
I'm not an expert, but I'd imagine they used natural materials for brushes, such as animal hair, twigs, rushes, that sort of thing ... perhaps tied onto a wood or bone stick for grasping.
Sara T.
RAT Rules for Posting

Courage is found in unlikely places. [size=75:2xx5no0x] ~J.R.R Tolkien[/size]
True, from the paintings themselves one can suppose the paintbrushes were not too different from those we use today, except for the metal hilt. Do you know if anything has been found that would give us a clearer picture for reconstruction?
Tertius Mummius
(Jan Hochbruck)
Quote: Do you know if anything has been found that would give us a clearer picture for reconstruction?

Alas no - I have no idea if any survive today. I tried to Google any information, but came up empty. Sad
Sara T.
RAT Rules for Posting

Quote:
Tertius Mummius:buxld0zk Wrote:Do you know if anything has been found that would give us a clearer picture for reconstruction?

Alas no - I have no idea if any survive today. I tried to Google any information, but came up empty. Sad

Thank you nonetheless – I did the same, with the same results. It seems as if - just as with the famous toilet sponge-sticks - the most popular and wide-spread things have vanished as if they've never existed. I think I'll have to delve more deeply into the local institute's libraries.
Smile
Tertius Mummius
(Jan Hochbruck)
Can't help you with archeological finds, but I have manageed to unearth a few depictions that may help if you can track them down (my camera's sick ATM).