Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The first finnish made Scorpio- Complete!
Finally, after eight moths of back-breaking work, my little 48,1 kilogram heavy Scorpio is almost ready; it is only missing one Bracchium(is this the correct way to write it?) and a metal strut to hold the frame in place when firing! Just a week more...

I would also say that this was a tremendous effort of me- I'm only 18 and have to deal with a lot less money than most ballista builders.

Do any of you experts here see any critical errors or structural flaws in these pictures?
Juuso Laasonen
More pictures:
Juuso Laasonen
Quote:Do any of you experts here see any critical errors or structural flaws in these pictures?
Well, I'm not an expert, nor even an intermediate. However, I do notice that you seem to be missing sinew bundles and swinger arms :lol:

Looks great. I'd love to do one myself, but so many other projects that take so much time.....
Marcus Julius Germanus
m.k.a. Brian Biesemeyer
S.P.Q.A.
Oh yes, I'll have to insert those as well. I really wondered why it didn't fire anything... really the other arm is not yet ready, so that's why they're not in place yet. :!:
Juuso Laasonen
Nice work young man, great effort! Have an 'L' on me!
Visne partem mei capere? Comminus agamus! * Me semper rogo, Quid faceret Iulius Caesar? * Confidence is a good thing! Overconfidence is too much of a good thing.
[b]Legio XIIII GMV. (Q. Magivs)RMRS Remember Atuatuca! Vengence will be ours!
Titus Flavius Germanus
Batavian Coh I
Byron Angel
Hyvä Juuso Confusedhock: !

Koska pidetään ammuntakilpailut, taitaisi mun 110-paunainen näyttää ihan lelulta vertailussa :wink: ...
Virilis / Jyrki Halme
PHILODOX
[Image: fectio.png]
Arrg. I need to make one too.

But really nice job! Well done!
ALA I BATAVORUM
Singin´

Everybody ought to have a Scorpio,
Everybody ought to have a working siege machine,
Everybody ought to have a outswinginging one,
To make you putter around the garage.

Great! Big Grin