Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Proto-Centurion question
Hello! I've been viewing these forums on and off for several months now but this is my first post. It's nice having a site like this because I'm teaching myself Roman history for research purposes in writing a certain book ive been working on. The book is part of a much larger work that demands research on a huge range of subjects (everything under the sun..and over it too). So I dont have time to properly educate myself on the subject or attend school on it. Therefore I try to weed through articles all over the library and internet to get an idea on a few things I need to know for the setting for this particular book. The setting only takes place in the years 149 to possibly 146BC so I'm more interested in roman-greek relations leading up to the eventual roman provinces in macedonia and greece (therefore I am interested in middle republic rome, and late hellenistic greece.) This has led me to learn more about the Roman army at the time and I have a decent concept of it.

Wikipedia is a very convenient tool but I have critical caution on some of it and most of it doesnt cover the subjects in detail so I've come here, as my knowledge needs to be practical as well as scholarly.

Also, I've taken to the sources (for the sake of convenience) used by the team of Rome Total Realism, a mod for a game I'm sure some of you are acquainted with. So I am wondering (pending the release of RTR 7.0) how much I could trust some of their historical data, particularly on the visual end (with the obvious exception that every soldier isnt going to be dressed and armed uniformly like in the game). If not are there other visual sources you guys could lead me to?