Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pilum Grip
Matt,

As a fellow Cannuck, where on earth did you find 2x2 in ash???
All I can find is softwood like pine.

I think I still have my Dad's old draw knife and assorted turn of the century hand tools... be a darned nice project.

Thanks,

Phillip
Q. ARTORIVS CORVINVS
aka: Phillip Vautour
"Rome is but a wilderness of tigers, and tigers must prey."
<a class="postlink" href="http://rubicon.dyndns.org/legioxxi">http://rubicon.dyndns.org/legioxxi
Quote:Slave,

Now that seems like a logical way to throw the Pilum.

Since I don't know this one... does anyone know how Olympians are trained to throw a javelin? Is it a similar fashion or standard grip?

Back in the previous century, when I was a track and field coach, the book to turn to was "The Dynamics of the Javelin Throw" by Dr Robert F. Sing (1984 Reynolds Publishing) ISBN 0914715038.

I am sure there is something newer out there. Page 36 shows the 'grip' and the method of throw is photographed throw the next few pages.
Caius Fabius Maior
Charles Foxtrot
moderator, Roman Army Talk
link to the rules for posting
[url:2zv11pbx]http://romanarmy.com/rat/viewtopic.php?t=22853[/url]
Quote:Just a question for curiousity's sake...but was there something not working with the regular grip? Cuz i don't see how it can be more accurate?

The "regular grip" ??? Do we know what that is?

Because what you are suggesting isn't quite natural. The regular grip I refer to as used say in Olympic javelin throwing doesn't require anything but a round shaft to grab, which is a common trait of all types of pila.

Depictions in art also seem to support the "regular" grip idea.

Not to mention accuracy isn't all that important when throwing your javelins at a gigantic mass of screaming, crazy people intent on killing you. Smile

Legion: TBD
Quote:Matt,

As a fellow Cannuck, where on earth did you find 2x2 in ash???
All I can find is softwood like pine.