Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cadenced Marching
I was reading De Saxe's Reveries and some other works on Early Modern war and I noted that cadenced marching was often attributed to the Romans by authors of the period. Is there any documentary evidence the Roman actually did this, or was it just 17th and 18thc authors looking for a classical precedent? Big Grin
David Walker
Boy, oh boy. You sure know how to start a war from nothing, eh?

There are two armed camps about the marching in step--opposite views, of course. For what it's worth, I don't know of any documented proof either way...OTOH, I'm no expert. Just getting an answer in before the impending battle.
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
None that i've ever read about or heard of...at least not from those I'd consider scholarly. 8)

Legion: TBD
Sorry, I didn't know it was a controversial subject. Confusedhock: Thanks though, unless some widely know military manual says it happened, I suspect there is no way de Saxe and gang could have known they did. And as Roman military manuals are, in my understanding, very rare, I'll assume that if nobody here knows of such a thing, neither did people in the 17th and 18thc. Tongue ) )
David Walker
I answer your question with another question: How else do you keep a formation in line during movement? Especially in the case of testudo or tight phalanx formations.

There may not be a verbal cadence. Another audio signal such as weapon haft against shield or stomping a certain foot, or visual signals, provided by the unit standard. Perhaps by the time the soldier became a professional this wouldn't have been necessary, but definitely during initial training. In the modern military there are times when the formation is allowed to move without actually marking time. When this order is given, within a few paces the formation starts looking like a jiffy pop bag as helmets begin bobbing randomly.
Marcus Julius Germanus
m.k.a. Brian Biesemeyer