Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fumbling
Hi Guys

Fumbling my way round in the dark here for a place to start, finding the list of must have books was great and this is the first site to have one that I have found where more than a couple of people had an opinion, like I said in my introduction, I am here following a rebirth of interest in Roman Military History, I am also a military modeler so want to find out about uniforms etc.

I bought to start with Adrian Goldsworthy's In The Name Of Rome, which is proving interesting reading, though to be honest I am more interested in the Roman Conquest of the UK is there any of the books more suited to that period, also what about Gladiators, books on them.

Any help would be great

Robin
Robin Snelson
Hi Robin!

For the Roman invasion of Britain I remember more than one book on that subject is on the market, but I cannot recommend a specific one without having read it.

For Gladiators my first choice is:

Marcus Junkelmann, Das Spiel mit dem Tod. So kämpften Roms Gladiatoren (Mainz 2000, ISBN 3-8053-2563-0)

It is the best up-to-date work on this subject.
I don`t know if there is an English language edition but as it contains lots of pictures of originals and reconstructed Armour suits it would be highly useful even if you don´t understand German.

Greets,

Decebalus/Andreas Gagelmann
Andreas Gagelmann
Berlin, Germany
A History of Roman Britain
Peter Salway
ISBN: 0192801384
Edition New edition
Paperback
Oxford University Press

Very interesting book.