RomanArmyTalk
Who,why,what and how? - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Research Arena (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Roman Military History & Archaeology (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: Who,why,what and how? (/showthread.php?tid=7519)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Who,why,what and how? - varistus - 11-24-2006

Who were the Romans really? What did they really look like? Why were they so successful? How did they conquer so much with so little a populous?
These questions bother me and my attempts to answer and research them.
I looked at many posts and it seems like I cannot find any easy answers. When I toured Pompeii and Rome I studied much but not understanding Latin or Italian left me many questions.
Looking at paintings I came across conclusions not reached here: The Romans had a certain look and genetic characteristic I have not seen in any European. 1. They were very muscular looking in a way that certain African tribes look.(I am not saying they look African,just their body types)2. They looked like they had a huge variety in hair, skin tones.
3.They looked shorter than say the average American(not saying they did not look fierce,they did)
4. Very few had attractive facial features!
Many paintings I came across. Questions I asked over there about these things were never answered without be in a riddle.
It seems like no one really asked these questions before?