RomanArmyTalk
Chinese Roman interaction. - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Research Arena (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Ancient Civ Talk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Chinese Roman interaction. (/showthread.php?tid=6853)

Pages: 1 2 3

Chinese Roman interaction. - Felix Agrippa - 09-15-2006

Ave everyone,

I am going to post an unusual topic, here so bare with me here.
I have always wondered if East Asian cultures in the Roman Empire ever interacted to the point, where there would be merchants and dignitaries living in the others Empire. I have some knowledge of the East -West interaction, which I will post. If anyone has any more information about this subject pleases post.

There were a serious of steps that lead up the ancients’ interaction with the east starting with Alexander in 329 B.C. when he founded the town of Alexandria Eschate in the modern day Khozdent, Tajikistan. For the next three centuries the Greeks stayed in Central Asia, and established the Greco-Bactrian Kingdom in Bactria. This kingdom kept pushing westward past Alexandria Eschate with possible contact with the Han dynasty around 200 B.C. This is back up by the writings of the Greek historian Starbo who wrote that “they extended their empire even as far as the Seres (China) and the Phryni".