RomanArmyTalk
Lorica Segmentata: can I do it???? - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Reenactment (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Roman Re-Enactment & Reconstruction (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Lorica Segmentata: can I do it???? (/showthread.php?tid=5944)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Lorica Segmentata: can I do it???? - sillious saurus - 06-15-2006

I am contemplating building a Lorica Segmentata and I guess I need either support to do it, or warnings to forget it. I have no experience with metal work, but I have a keen interest in building my own Lorica Segmentata. Is this madness? I guess formost is that I am having a hard time finding the steel (I am in Detroit and cant find steel, is that nuts?) Can somebody give me an idea of about how much that will cost? How about what I need to do to cut it, can it be done with snips, or do I need to get it CNC'd. Or maybe a breakdown of what I can expect to pay for the entire project, just to get an idea. I guess it is very daunting undertaking in just collecting the raw materials. I need sheet metal from wherever, leather from this guy, brass from over there, this particular funky tool--but MAN, does it sure sounds fun! Hopefully there is a kind soul who will read this and give me advice. I have read about everything I can find on the internet, and I have many of the patterns posted on the net as well, so I am good on that front. Love to hear some ideas.

Re: Lorica Segmentata: can I do it???? - Tarbicus - 06-15-2006

Matt Lukes is currently building a Corbridge C for me, so it's not a case of I can give advice on how to build one and should you do it? But, I certainly had fun poring through the options of what fittings to have, etc, as I think Matt did.