RomanArmyTalk
Scissor Questions - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Research Arena (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Ancient Combat Sports (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: Scissor Questions (/showthread.php?tid=22315)

Pages: 1 2

Scissor Questions - Titus Manlius Verus - 03-14-2013

Avete Gladiatores,

I've recently taken an interest in the Scissor gladiator. I've scoured both RAT and the Internet for all of the information that I can find about this enigma. However, as with much of our passion, much is left to speculation. As such, I was hoping that you much more knowledgeable historians could help me with what I cannot find, and work our way through theories. Please forgive my enthusiasm. I'm relatively new to Roman history, and when I find a topic that excites me, I throw myself into it. Many thanks. Here are my questions:

1). Do we have a general timeframe for this gladiator?

2). Based on archaeological evidence, the scissor appears to be a sub-division of the Secutor school. Would it be absurd to theorize that due to the necessary aggression, agility, and endurance, the scissor could be considered an "elite" (I use this term very loosely) Secutor?

3). These gladiators seem to appear only in the East. Could it be that this was due to places like the Ephesian's appetite for unique attraction, or was this a new form of gladiator that was making its way to the mainstream (like the retiarius and Secutor in the first century)?

Scissor Questions - Medusa Gladiatrix - 03-14-2013

I checked my books of Marcus Junkelmann, Eric Teyssier and Dario Battaglia in order to answer your questions as good as possible: