RomanArmyTalk
New Greek Helm - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Reenactment (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Greek Re-Enactment & Reconstruction (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Thread: New Greek Helm (/showthread.php?tid=17817)

Pages: 1 2

New Greek Helm - Brennus - 11-07-2010

I came across a new catalogue item on the Manning Imperial site. I'm no expert on the Greek stuff (i'm a bit more of a Celtophile) but I thought I would share it with you guys. I think it looks pretty neat. yay? or Nay?
[url:1n8esbm6]http://www.manningimperial.com/item.php?item_id=581&g_id=3&c_id=56[/url]

Re: New Greek Helm - Gregory J. Liebau - 11-07-2010

I believe that was commissioned by Barcid here on the forum. He threw a picture of it in my recent thread on pilos helmets and mentioned it as being Hellenic, mid-4th century BC. It has a crest style that is particularly common in Italy during this era.

-Gregory

Re: New Greek Helm - Brennus - 11-07-2010

Quote:I believe that was commissioned by Barcid here on the forum. He threw a picture of it in my recent thread on pilos helmets and mentioned it as being Hellenic, mid-4th century BC. It has a crest style that is particularly common in Italy during this era.

-Gregory
Thanks for the link. I havn't seen the actual helm this was based off of before. Well, if it is indeed Barcid's piece then he got one nice helm 8)

Re: New Greek Helm - barcid - 11-08-2010

Thanks Brennus, the original can be seen here edited by moderator due to violation of forum rule # 4 ... looks cool with some plumage

[Image: 2zfjwps.jpg]

Re: New Greek Helm - PMBardunias - 11-09-2010

Dave, I'd love to see that helmet worn if you have any images.

Re: New Greek Helm - Brennus - 11-09-2010

Lookin' sharp 8)

Re: New Greek Helm - barcid - 11-10-2010

a couple of happy snaps for you cheers dave