Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Statistical time series?
Hello everyone,

I'm a student of History at Ghent University (Belgium) and I have an 'assignment' for a class named "Data management and statistics for historians". I know that this might be a stupid question as it isn't as simple for other (later) historical periods, but are there any time-series available for antiquity? By this I mean lists of numbers (of production, military strength, population, ...) per year or for every few years.
It's for a small statistical analysis, and I need two (to look if there's a connection between them).
They might come from databases or in articles. Even numbers of found artefacts per period are useful.

This could be demographic, economic, military, ... Everything is welcome. I hope you can help because I'd rather not do it about a post-middle-ages period. Thanks in advance!
Valete,
Titvs Statilivs Castvs - Sander Van Daele
LEG XI CPF
COH VII RAET EQ (part of LEG XI CPF)

MA in History
Oh yes, there is information like that out there. In most cases it isn't the best quantity or quality, but it really depends what you are looking for. When I was in college I gathered a multitude of prices for a project, for instance. It might be easier to suggest information if you give an idea what you want to study.
David J. Cord
www.davidcord.com
The subject doesn't really matter, it's about the statistical analysis we're supposed to do. It's to show we can process and interpret time-series.

I need two time-series covering the same period, which might have something to do with each other. These I will then compare and look if there is any connection between the two, and look if it's statistically significant.

It doesn't need to be per year, it also can be for every 5 or 10 years, but I need time-series with about 30 to 50 values (e.g. the period 70-110 annually, or 1-300 per 10 years).