Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hybrid Phalanx Theory
I am a fantasy fiction writer, and my stories involve military encounters between armed forces of a technological and organisational level similar to those extant in the 1st- 3rd centuries BC. My question today pertains to the phalanx formation. I believe its main weaknesses are considered to be 1) vulnerability to flank and rear attack due to inflexibility of the formation and 2) vulnerability to close-quarters fighting in event of loss of cohesion in the front lines due to rough terrain or pressure from opposing forces.

What is your opinion on the practicality and effectiveness of replacing the first line of spearmen in a phalanx with sword-armed heavy infantry? As far as I can tell, this would solve two issues: the swordsmen would be able to hold off whatever troops managed to get past the spear points, and they could spread out to cover any gaps that appeared in the line because of rough terrain. A possible disadvantage that occurred to me is that the front line would be limited in their mobility by the spears to either side of each swordsman, but beyond that, I find it hard to envision the potential effectiveness of the concept, or any further objections to its feasibility.

I am fascinated by the amount of knowledge here, and I would appreciate any thoughts on the hybrid phalanx concept, as well as corrections to my understanding of the historical data.
Ernst-jan Heijnis
Well the swordsmen with a thureos concept worked for pike and shot formations I would also suggest putting light cavalry on the flanks and putting archers in the rear
Ben.
Quote:Well the swordsmen with a thureos concept worked for pike and shot formations I would also suggest putting light cavalry on the flanks and putting archers in the rear

Thank you for your reply. When you mention the "thureos concept", are you referring to the Thureophoroi? In what way did that concept apply to later pike and shot formations?