Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
All you ever needed to know about re-enactment
Just go onto this site, click on 'site map' and then on 'glossary of reenactor's terms'.

www.historicgames.com

Vale,
Marcus Antonius Celer/Julian Dendy.
Thanks for that Celer it is quite a jolly read :lol: :lol:
Regards Brennivs Big Grin
Woe Ye The Vanquished
                     Brennvs 390 BC
When you have all this why do you envy our mud huts
                     Caratacvs
Centvrio Princeps Brennivs COH I Dacorivm (Roma Antiqvia)
Thanks Celer, i enjoyed reading those visitor's comments. After 20 years of reenacting many different eras, i can relate to the dumb things people often ask.

As i'm just getting started in Roman reenacting, i would be interested in reading about some of the types of questions you guys get asked at Roman events.

Maius/Bill
Marcus Petronius Maius
LEG XIIII GEMINA COH VI
Thank you for the link, I think I laughed myself sick!

I generally try to dissuade folks from being too hard on visitors for their stupid questions. Quite often, though they certainly sound like stupid fools, they are only suffering from culture shock. They've never seen reenactors before and simply don't understand what is going on. So their brains fry, and their attempt to form an intelligent question comes out as "Is that a real fire?" (Well, we more usually "Is that a real sword?") So I prefer to give them the benefit of the doubt and give a brief explanation, such as "Well, everything we have here is a modern copy, though we try to make them as close to the real thing as possible. So yes, the weapons and armor are 'real' and fully functional, just not antique." And go from there. Sure, many of them have the attention spans of fleas, and are thoroughly products of the modern world. Don't worry about them. Just try not to scare off the few who are genuinely interested.